upside down head
perceptions
scarletrose2
Fickled
Invisibledon
Invisiblepal
Carlilly
Kieri
breakfust
Sammi1285
luv4you
Lilsnowpixie
londncalling
tulipbaroo
sailorpallas
pink-milk
clueless1285
Wonderwall
Franniboo
Gloamling
xxcobrasxx
trickykid
Sammit1285
soverycherry
kopa
coffeebitch
castleofsand
st0nered
delta88
starsrmylfe
beefspleen
Falla
pickles47
Localaura
interexile
classcouture
Trendyflat
flyanyway
montparnasse
Ship-whore
haircutgirl
chickie-legs
<- Saturday, May. 06, 2006 | 12:44 a.m. ->





absence? presenced

So, things are not nearly so bad as maudlin diary entries would have people think. Also, I love Amy Hawkins.

Today was filled with hilarious adventures and misadventures. Also, I cut my own hair - which was neither hilarious nor (I hope) a misadventure but is noteworthy in that I have NEVER done that before. Really. Not even when I was little - no hair cutting.

Triumphant I emerge with NON-BUTCHERD HAIR! Oh yes, yes, this is important enough for all-caps.

It was just a trim, really, but I am proud. I feel this probably earns me some indie points. Or perhaps just "people who can do things for themselves" points. Who knows?

I footnoted the phrase (term?) "presencing the absence" in my Jewish American Literature take-home exam today. The footnote reads like this: In case �presencing the absence� isn�t a phrase anyone other than my crazy anthropology professor feels can be used without any explanation: this is the making real, present and tangible of something very obviously and explicitly not there by the acknowledgement of its not there-ness, therefore creating a new, present thing which is, in fact, the absent thing. For instance, to say �there is a hole in the wall� is to make the nothingness that is a lack-of-wall a something that is �hole.� This footnote is less for your benefit and more to prove I do, sort of, know what I�m talking about and am not making up words and terms.

(1)Oh man. I hope that wasn't a TERRIBLE IDEA. If it was, I will blame it all on the stress of a timed-take-home.
(2)Our professor asked us to put our names ONLY on the cover sheet of this exam so that she could try to grade the finals with some anonymity. I may have foiled that plan with aforementioned footnote since, I mean, really. If THAT isn't a MegWeck tipoff, I don't know what is.


Previous | Next