upside down head
perceptions
scarletrose2
Fickled
Invisibledon
Invisiblepal
Carlilly
Kieri
breakfust
Sammi1285
luv4you
Lilsnowpixie
londncalling
tulipbaroo
sailorpallas
pink-milk
clueless1285
Wonderwall
Franniboo
Gloamling
xxcobrasxx
trickykid
Sammit1285
soverycherry
kopa
coffeebitch
castleofsand
st0nered
delta88
starsrmylfe
beefspleen
Falla
pickles47
Localaura
interexile
classcouture
Trendyflat
flyanyway
montparnasse
Ship-whore
haircutgirl
chickie-legs
<- Monday, Apr. 30, 2007 | 10:03 p.m. ->





I cannot handle this advice.

I refuse to believe that �go to the gym� is the answer to all my problems. I ESPECIALLY refuse to believe that it is the answer to all my EMOTIONAL problems.

Maybe if gyms were actually happy, relaxed environments where you could focus on yourself and giving your body what it needs and building up endorphins and getting into a mindless groove that would be good advice.

However, this is not the case. Gyms are bastions of TERRIBLE SELF ESTEEM. EVERYONE IS WORKING HARDER THAN YOU. EVERYONE IS JUDGING YOU. YOU LOOK DUMB IN SWEAT PANTS. Etc.

Maybe you feel better about yourself, having gone to the gym but this is rarely because you truly, deep down inside, are glad you�re �doing the right thing for your body.� It�s the fucking beauty standard, people. I don�t pretend to live outside of it or its influence BUT I AM NOT GOING TO PRETEND IT ISN�T THE GAME I AM PLAYING. I DO NOT DO THE ELLIPTICAL BECAUSE IT MAKES ME HAPPY INSIDE I DO IT BECAUSE IT IS SUPPOSED TO MAKE ME SKINNY.

�Healthy� so often is an epithet for �hot� so don�t even go there, buster. I am mad, and I am stressed, and I kind of want to punch in a wall so DO NOT tell me that I will feel better about myself if I spend an hour of the time I need to be writing, reading, or sleeping comparing myself to a girl in spandex who is tiny, toned, and knows it.

Fin.

Previous | Next